Search for a story:

Top names to participate in Kremetart

Sport - Date: 08 June 2018

Written by: Isabel Venter / Viewed: 587


If you love cycling, this weekend’s Jacaranda FM Kremetart Cycling Race is not to be missed.

Some of South Africa’s top names will visit Louis Trichardt this Saturday to compete in the gruelling 175km race.

Jason Oosthuizen (19) from Team Barzani Pro Cycling, will be participating for the first time ever in the Kremetart. This youngster has already impressed when he won the national U/23 title in Oudsthoorn this year, while also ending third overall in the elite category. Oosthuizen also impressed internationally when he won the third stage of the Junior Tour of Ireland in July last year.

During the Kremetart, Jason will be backed by his Barzani team mates Nico Thiart, Dusty Day and Tyler Day. The Day-brothers are sure to give good advice, being no strangers to the Kremetart. In 2011 Tyler won the Kremetart in a time of 04:20:40.

The Barzani team will face some stiff competition from Team BCX, who boast with road and track cyclist Nolan Hoffman (33). Nolan too is no stranger to the Kremetart having won the race twice. He first took top honours in 2008, completing the race in a total time of 04:12:47 and won it again in 2013 in a time of 04:15:59.

The women’s race is also set to be well contested with Cape Town Cycle Tour winner Kim le Court, South African road champion Carla Oberholzer, and Lynette Burger of the Demacon Ladies team competing this year. Lynette, like Nolan, is no stranger to the Kremetart. She shared the winners’ podium with Nolan in 2013, finishing the race in a total time of 05:24:53. In 2009 she won the race in a time of 04:54:58.

Now, in its 28th year, the Kremetart road race, which takes place on June 9, has already attracted just over 600 entries for the 175km stage race and just over 100 entries for the 70km race. This is apart from the 35km fun ride, where the organisers expect more entries on the day of the race. 

There will also be a fun walk and kiddies race that residents are invited not to miss out on. The big races will start from 06:00 an all are invited to dress up warmly and support the cyclists. 


To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Readers are encouraged to comment on articles and express their opinion. The views expressed by readers should in no way be perceived as necessarily that of the newspaper or its staff members. Comments may be pre-moderated by our team and if found offensive, be removed.

When commenting, please respect others. Be polite to all the members of our community, including other commenters, authors and the subjects of articles. We believe strongly that the Zoutnet group of websites should be a safe and welcoming space for all individuals, groups and their ideas. As such, any rudeness, insults, hate speech, hostility, or language that incites racism or unfair discrimination may be removed and you may lose your ability to comment. 

Team Barzani Pro Cycling ready for the Kremetart. They are, from left to right, Nico Thiart, Tyler Day, Dusty Day and Jason Oosthuizen. Photo supplied.


Nolan Hoffman, cycling for Team BCX this year, won the Kremetart Cycling Race in 2009 and 2013. Photo supplied.

Nolan Hoffman, cycling for Team BCX this year, won the Kremetart Cycling Race in 2009 and 2013. Photo supplied.

Nolan Hoffman, cycling for Team BCX this year, won the Kremetart Cycling Race in 2009 and 2013. Photo supplied.

Lynette Burger-Pieterse, photographed during the 2015 Kremetart Race. She too have won the race in 2009 and 2013.

The ladies from Team Demacon who will compete in this year's elite race of the Kremetart are, from left to right, Kim le Court, Carla Oberholzer, Heidi Dalton and Lynette Burger-Pieterse. Photo: Facebook.


Isabel Venter

Isabel joined the Zoutpansberger and Limpopo Mirror in 2009 as a reporter. She holds a BA Degree in Communication Sciences from the University of South Africa. Her beat is mainly crime and court reporting.


Recent Articles